Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-09-01 - 10:24 p.m.

I slept for four hours today. I mean. I mean to say that I napped for four hours. I slept for several hours leading up to the nap and then there was the nap. There was an afternoon nap and then a late afternoon nap. In the middle I tried to do some writing. I have additional edits to the book. Edits that (I'm thinking) should be the final round from the Publisher. They arrived in the form of a FedEx package on Wednesday. They sat in our front entryway. No one signed for them. I think that's ok.

I had done the bulk of the edits on Wednesday, Thursday and Friday. The bulk that required actions like, "move this here, move this there, consider spelling everything properly." As I went along, I folded the individual pages in half, lengthwise that had edits which called for things like, "fill in the gaps." "Introduce this character earlier" and "tell me more."

Because you may not know this about me. But I have to clear out the easy parts of a project before I can allow myself to launch into the more difficult parts. I thought I'd be launching today. Instead I napped. A lot. A hell of a lot. I did get through a few of the more difficult edits. But I'm going to have to go back and read them again tomorrow to make sure they still make sense.

I was so exhausted from the weekend with our houseguests. They brought me prezzies!!! Yeah birthday! We packed in so much fun. Even I was suprised. On Friday evening we went to "Writers With Drinks" at the Lizard Lounge. Which. Could not have been more fun. I finally got to see one of my best friends in Boston do a reading and it was fun seeing what I've come to think of as "my crowd" in action.

I should get out more.

Saturday we went to West Newton to see the movie "thirteen".

I was actually carded before they would sell me a ticket to the movie. The woman at the counter looked at me and goes, "How old are you?"

I almost didn't understand what she had said.

"Um. 32."

She didn't blink. Just handed me the ticket. I almost wished she had kept it. I was so emotionally strung out by that movie that I nearly walked out towards the end. Jesus. They should have issued warnings with that movie.

Afterwards we went to Brookline and to a great restaurant called "Lucy's". The food was incredible. Such a wonderful blend of flavors. I had the salmon salad and I could not have been happier. On we went to Brookline Booksmith. Where I have NEVER been. WTF? I bought Joe Sacco's "Palestine" and "How to Lose Friends and Alienate People." I also got the new "Poets and Writers" because why not.

Sunday we took a Boston Harbor boat out to George's Island. It was such an absolutely beautiful day. I packed a picnic lunch for four... honey ham, triscuits, olives, triple-creme brie, tomatoes, I even cracked fresh peppper and added some potato salad. The water was so beautiful. I close my eyes sometimes to see the intense blue again. We walked around. We ate. We laid in the sun. I got a bit of a sunburn. I loved it.

George's Island used to house a fort and later a prison for Confederate soldiers. This is a marker put up in memory of those Confederate soldiers who died on the island. The marker was put up by the Daughters of the Confederacy.... BOSTON CHAPTER!

AHHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHHAAHHAHAAHAAA

boston chapter of the daughters of the confederacy. What is that? Like ONE member???? The Girl has the family line necessary to be a member of the Daughters of the Revolution AND the Daughters of the Confederacy. I kept trying to convince her to join the Boston chapters!! AHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAA

boston chapter.

cracks me up.

and then today I napped.

I'm sure I'll pay for this tomorrow.

I'm ok with that. I'll just close my eyes.

And dream of the ocean.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!