Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2001-10-14 - 10:06 p.m.

You tell them that our lives can change with every breath we take... and to let go of the past because it's gone and to hold on like hell to what they've got: each other, and a mother who would die for them and almost did... You tell them we've all got bad in us, but we've got goodness too. And the only thing worth living for is the good. And that's why we've got to make sure we pass it on.

~From the movie "Where the Heart Is" based on the book by Billie Letts

Breathe in. Breathe out. And life can change. Life can change with every breath we take.

The spiritual is in the every day.

A neighbor across the street cooing at the new beagle puppy our next-door neighbor has. She was in her houserobe at noon. Hair all undone. Calling to Huckleberry. I waved at her and cooed to the puppy too.

Our lives can change with every breath we take. Let go of the past and hold on like hell to what we've got. The love in our lives.

And a Sunday morning brunch in the drizzling rain. Centre Street Cafe and California Baja special with lox and english muffins and hollandaise(sp?) sauce. And coffee. Specials on suits at Frugal Fannies and My Girl holding my hand and holding forth in a Virginia drawl.

Our lives can change with every breath we take. I know this. In a flash. In a second. Kentucky hick girl. Married. Divorced. Single. Careers. Jobs. Addresses. One night stands. And then.

Love.

Our lives can change with every breath we take.

The spiritual is in the everyday. Fall into drizzly Sunday brunches with loads of coffee and clean laundry and new books and a new suit and my Girl.

She made a quiche. With bacon. We had brunch and yesterday went to a movie. We held hands. I kissed her smooth cheek. She washed the dog. I mopped the floor. I ran my fingers through her hair. We watched a movie together in the dark.

Where the Heart Is.

And we cried.

Because Thorny at the end tells Novalee that there's nothing better than her.

Nothing.

And then he kissed her. And I lay my head on my Girl's shoulder. And we held each other. Tight.

Because what got me to Boston. And out of the World Trade Center. Was love. And a few emails. And a Girl who is fearless. In that Buddhist sense. And one day outside Fanuil Hall she told me that she loved me. And that her heart hurt hard whenever I left. And I knew that mine did too. And I knew right then and there. Just like I knew tonight now today this moment this morning this noon and this night.

That there's nothing better than My Girl.

And that our lives can change with every breath we take. And that we have to let go of the past because it's gone. And.

We have to hold on like crazy to what we have.

Because our lives can change with every breath we take. And because.

I love. My Girl.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!