Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2001-09-11 - 9:51 p.m.

Thank you all. For your emails. For your thoughts. For your prayers.

There is no way to grasp all of this. I thought I was handling it well at work. And then I realized I had turned off my computer three times and wandered around the office aimlessly. I feel like someone who was scheduled to be on a plane than crashed, and at the last minute I got off. I had planned to go to nyc this weekend. My new york is gone. There are images on cnn that were taken from the burger king that I used to get a coffee from *every* morning... as the second plane crashed. the skyline is gone. my beautiful beautiful city. my beautiful beautiful people. this beautiful beautiful country.

The Girl came and picked me up at work. I cannot drive even though I seem so ok on the outside. We hugged so hard. I spoke to my sister, my mother, my aunt. So many of my relatives did not know that I had moved. I just moved. We stopped at Doyle's the local pub on the way home. You just want to be with people. We had dinner and some pints and cried. On the way out we saw friends. One of whom had grown up on Coney Island. They didn't know I used to work there. We sat down with them and cried.

This is too much to grasp.

I feel I shouldn't speak of this. It's not my tragedy. My jaw is set hard. My city. My beautiful country.

The quote we should quote to ourselves comes from this afternoon from Guiliani. Mayor of New York.

We are more than this. We. This city. This country. We are more than this.

We are more than this.

New Yorkers today joined arms with one another on the street and took care of one another.

Tomorrow we who are not in New York, take care of one another. Tomorrow we join arms in our businesses, our dealings, our day to day lives and we take care of one another. We donate blood. We continue to go to our jobs. We buy stocks. We pay our bills. We fix dinners. We do not cast blame indiscriminately. We stand behind our elected leaders. We are one tonight.

We are one tomorrow.

We are more than this.

We will not be frightened away from freedom.

pray.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!